We, the undersigned, support Asw. Britnee Timberlake's Assembly bill A.3948 because no one should lose their home as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. This legislation directly reflects the input of the housing and community development organizations, community leaders, and residents working together to address the significant housing obstacles that New Jersey residents are facing.

The pandemic has resulted in a public health crisis that has halted our economy and hit our most vulnerable residents the hardest. Since the stay-at-home executive order began, more than 700,000 New Jerseyans have filed for unemployment, putting enormous pressure on households to pay for basic expenses and creating the fear of losing their homes.

Eight years after Sandy caused enormous damage to New Jersey's communities and economy, and over a decade since the 2008 Great Recession, New Jersey residents were turning the corner and getting back on their feet. Housing challenges remained though; last year, we led the nation in foreclosures and were the sixth most expensive place to rent. It is imperative we move more quickly for sweeping protections today to keep families in their homes.

We strongly support Gov. Murphy's stay-at-home executive order to protect public health. As we work together to stop the spread of COVID-19 by staying home, our leaders can use the lessons we learned from Sandy to reduce the impact of this new disaster on our state's health and housing crises.

Our elected officials need to ensure that residents-particularly our hourly wage earners-are not saddled with back payments and debt that they and most New Jerseyans could not possibly pay. As this pandemic continues, we will need to address additional concerns and pressures placed upon our New Jersey residents to recover from this financial hardship.

At present, the bill that best reflects those principles is A.3948. We urge the state legislature to codify the governor's goal to keep residents in their homes. This starts with supporting A.3948, sponsored by Asw. Britnee Timberlake and supported by Assembly Housing Committee Chairman Benjie Wimberly, Asw. Angela McKnight, Asw. Shanique Speight, Asm. Daniel Benson, Asw. Linda Carter, Asm. Thomas Giblin, and Asm. Ralph Caputo. The Senate version of this bill is awaiting formal introduction.

This responsible proposal shows compassion to tenants and homeowners. We urge Assembly Speaker Coughlin to bring A.3948 up for a vote at the next Assembly voting session. We call on Senate President Sweeney to introduce a Senate companion and move this bill forward for Gov. Murphy to sign into law. Protecting everyone's housing protects all of our health.

Sincerely,

Staci Berger, Housing and Community Development Network of NJ

Vicky Hernandez, Ironbound Community Corporation

Mark Parker-Magyar, NJ Working Families Adam Gordon, Fair Share Housing Center

Amanda Devecka-Rinear, NJ Organizing Project

Renee Koubiadis, Anti-Poverty Network of NJ Polli Schildge, Asbury Park Complete Streets Coalition

Marcia Marley, BlueWave NJ

Alexandar Staropoli, Camden Coalition of Healthcare Providers

Jusselia Molina, Centro Comuntario CEUS

Linda Flores-Tober, Elizabeth Coalition to House the Homeless

Wanda Hardy, Financial Wellness Institute

John Restrepo, Garden State Episcopal Community Development Corportation

Dan McGuire, Homeless Solutions, Inc,

Bill Good, HUD Tenants Coalition

John Hart, Isles, Inc.

Sherri Goldberg, Jewish Renaissance Foundation

Anthony Smith, Lincoln Park Coast Cultural District

Jessica Valladolid, Masakhane

Charles Bergman, New Brunswick Tomorrow

Beverly Brown Ruggia, NJ Citizen Action Derek Bloom, Asbury Park Affordable Housing Coalition

Dominique Lee, BRICK Education Network

Megan Hurley, CATA – The Farmworkers Support Committee

Fred Rubin, Community Refuge Church of Christ

Charlene Walker, Faith in New Jersey

Matthew Smith, Food & Water Watch

Judith Morris, Greater Newark LISC

John Goldstein, Homes for All Newark

Ana Vilela Ohiwerei, Hudson County Housing Resource Center, Inc. Andrea Steinberg, Jewish Family Service of Atlantic & Cape May Counties

Raymond Ocasio, La Casa de Don Pedro

Loretta Dibble, Manufactured Homeowners Association of NJ

Camilla Comer-Carruthers, New Brunswick Healthy Housing Coalition

Richard Rohrman, New Community Corporation

Marie Blistan, NJ Education Association Melissa Chalker, NJ Foundation for Aging

Lou Kimmel, New Labor

Kate Leahy, NJ Coalition to End Homelessness

David Blanchard, North NJ Democratic Socialists of America

Mark Valli, NORWESCAP

Justin Goldsman, Our Revolution Essex County

Lewis Hurd, Premier Community Development Corporation

Dan Antonellis, Region Nine Housing Corporation

Dominique Lee, South Ward Children's Alliance

Diane Riley, Supportive Housing Association of NJ

Patricia Anthony, Unified Vailsburg Services

Irene Cooper-Basch, Victoria Foundation

David Aaronson Clifton Alexander Jackson Almeida Janet Aponte Katherine Arevalo Martha Arrizon Heather Barton Stephanie Bond Elise Brancheau Brandon McKoy, NJ Policy Perspective

Anthony Diaz, Newark Water Coalition

Trina Scordo, NJ Communities United

Suzan Fichtner, Northern Ocean Habitat for Humanity

Gregory Remaud, NY/NJ Baykeeper

Rev. Terrence Porter, Pilgrim Baptist Church/Red Bank Affordable Housing Corporation.

Steve Jobin, Raritan Bay Area YMCA

Kyra Price, Solutions to End Poverty Soon (STEPS)

Richard C. Williams St. Paul's Community Development Corporation

Joyce Campbell, Trenton Area Soup Kitchen

Vivian Fraser, Urban League of Essex County

Susanne Byrne, York Street Project

Cecilie Negron Anna Nelson Andrea Ojeda Monica Olivo Katia Oltmann Ikechukwu Onyema Stephanie Ortega Rory Pasquariello Jayna Pena Amy Brown Erica Cabrera Naeema Campbell Eboni Carter Jontae Claiborne Patricia Cortado Drew Curtis Glenn Davis Lisa Davis Cecille de Laurentis Jose Delgado Diego Duran Natalia Duran **Douglas Farrand** Sarah Ferreira Yonette Fredericks Nicole Gamboa Tessa Garbely Alexis Garcia William Gifford Andrew Gordon Gabriella Guerriero Brianna Hanson **Kristie Heady** Lindsay Herron Larry Hirsch Elena Hung-Shum Aymann Ismail Sylvia Johnston Jessie Lan Miosha Lawrence Jhoel Lemus Alexander Lopez-Perez Sharon Magarino Jorge Mancilla Armando Marion-Landais Daniel Masessa Melissa Miles Carena Miles Amaris Mitchell Tara Murphy

Natasha Pereyra Jerry Pierre Allen Rabert Vanessa Reina Laurent Reyes Gabe Ribeiro Christopher Rodrguez Christian Rodriguez Bijan Roghanchi Julia Rubin Yovanka Sanchez Katherine Sastre Nicholas Scalera Karl Schwartz William Silversmith Bria Singletary Richard Sroczynski Deane Stepansky Letitia Sweat Daniel Swern Mark Swier Jonathan Toledo Amy Tower Greg Tuttle Andrea Urrea Melanie Vasa Hassel Velasco **Rosy Wagner Crystal Wessel** William Williams Chelsea Woods Leith Woods Thomas Young Laura Zurfluh